After a Long Hiatus…

Well hello again! I apologize to anyone who reads my blog for the extremely extended hiatus I’ve had from writing. After I got back from my abroad experience in Australia (and my travels through Indonesia and the Philippines on the way home) I ended up taking a semester off from school. It was a super last minute decision and primarily because of financial issues and family issues in general.

IMG_0218

At first I was pretty devastated when I realized I was going to have to take a break from pursuing my degree. Most of my friends will be graduating a semester ahead of me now, and seeing them take on prestige internships in the city and going out together on weekends was discouraging for me and obviously left me with major FOMO.

IMG_0118

Fortunately though I realized that this semester off has been a blessing in disguise. I’ve been working two jobs, one at a juice bar and one at LUSH Cosmetics. I feel like both have benefitted me, but I’ve especially enjoyed working at LUSH. It is a company I’ve admired for quite a while now – not only for their amazing products but also because of the message the company stands for. They actively oppose animal testing and all the ingredients in their products are fairly traded. Many of the ingredients in their products have beautiful stories behind them, and 100% of the profit on their Charity Pot lotion goes to various grassroots charities and organizations.

IMG_0190

I truly believe, more now than ever, that everything really does happen for a reason. Sometimes it just takes a bit longer to see what that reason may be – but in the end it is always there. Without taking this semester off I wouldn’t have been able to take a step back and have a now clearer vision of the career path I’d like to take. I’ve been able to spend more time with my friends here in LA and my boyfriend. I’m also really happy to say that I’ve been focusing a lot more on healthy eating and fitness since I’ve been home. I plan on starting to put more recipes on the blog alongside fashion, travel, and photography posts. With all that being said I’m still really excited to start back up at American this fall!

IMG_0609I promise to start writing more regularly on this blog, especially with my impending return to school coming up quickly. Also I will be traveling to Costa Rica for a week in August with my boyfriend and his family. I love writing about my travels and can’t wait to document it!

xoxo, Austa

IMG_0613

Leave a Reply

