My Arrival in Brisbane + Koalas

I arrived a few days ago in Brisbane for my semester-long study abroad adventure! I started classes at the University of Queensland today and my volunteer program at the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary this Friday which is super exciting. I’m beyond looking forward to exploring the city, traveling, cuddling with koalas, and generally learning the ways of the Aussie. Side note, did you know that they don’t carry the Aussie haircare brand in Australia? Weird.

Besides adventuring to the sanctuary this weekend, I went to Brisbane’s Night Noodle Market which was fun and delicious. They had a bunch of stalls of different types of Asian food (Australia has the best Asian food because of the close proximity to South East Asia which is such a plus), and pretty elaborately set up tents for eating and drinking. Each tent was sponsored by a different brand of alcohol, and drinks were as expensive as one expects in Australia.

Ridiculously high prices aside, Brisbane has been fun and welcoming and I’m excited to see all that it has to offer. Another plus is that the people here seem to think I have an accent…and they like it.

IMG_7660IMG_7709

IMG_7699IMG_7623IMG_7537IMG_7606

IMG_7598 IMG_7571 IMG_7557 IMG_7555

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hey, great images! Have you ever considered selling your images? I work for a photography company called EyeEm and we would like to work with you. If you are interested, please send me an email at cat@eyeem.com. Have a great day!

  2. nice pictures. Lucky you to be able to carry a koala. =)

  3. Awesome. I want to hold a koala like that too.

Leave a Reply

