Oil Pulling

I recently read an article about the incredible health and beauty benefits of oil pulling. Supposedly it is an Ayurvedic practice that people have been doing since ancient times! Not only does it have multiple supposed benefits for your oral health, but it is touted as a natural remedy for acne. It is supposed to remove harmful bacteria from your teeth and gums to cleanse your mouth and body. Some of the benefits I read about in various articles include: whiter teeth, less inflamed gums, reduction of acne, makes your skin glow, freshens breath, etc.

To oil pull, all you have to do is swish about a tablespoon of a healthy oil (such as coconut or sesame oil) in your mouth. I read various tips on timing, but generally it seems like 15 minutes is the prime swishing time. I read that once you are done swishing it is important not to spit the oil into your sink! It can clog the sink and also can possibly put harmful bacteria that was pulled from your mouth into the sink.

When I first read about oil pulling I thought it sounded strange but also very intriguing! I’m always looking for new ways to improve my health and well being in natural, easy ways. I’m actually trying it for the first time as I write this post. I am currently using coconut oil but plan to use sesame oil in the future once I finish my current jar of coconut oil. It’s really not all that bad and I’m excited to see the results!

Here are a few articles that I read about oil pulling if you want to know more:

http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-4896/The-Single-Most-Effective-Ayurvedic-Practice-for-Your-Mouth.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/08/oil-pulling-benefits_n_3940361.html

http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-10517/why-im-in-love-with-oil-pulling-and-why-you-should-be-too.html

Image

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. How fascinating! Do you think olive oil would count as a healthy oil? It’s the only oil I have in my pantry right now. I’d love to give this a go!

Leave a Reply

